Mother In Law – ARGH!

5 Nov

I know all the jokes about mother in laws. My MIL is the reason for these jokes infortunately. I REALLY wish this was not the case. I have even been in counseling over some of the issues. You can read some of the drama here. This is  just  a catharsis to write this down, because I know in the grand scheme of things this does NOT matter.

Since our relationship is not great, I take great pains to initiate time together with my MIL. I live in NJ, she lives in CT. It is a 3 hour drive between houses. She routinely takes the family to VT (3 hours from their house), but somehow always manages to never make it to NJ because “it is too far”. Almost any time we spend together is when H and I drive to CT.

Anyhow, I decided that despite it being the end of the marking period, and despite the mountain of essays and projects I have to grade this weekend, I would invite my MIL and family to meet in NY state near H’s uncle’s house to go hiking for the afternoon. We could do something active in the good weather, and spend time together. She took it upon herself to un-invite extended family (from MY hike invitation!). So we are 5 minutes away from family, that I invited to the hike, and she UNINVITED them! I re-invited them and a heated telephone conversation ensued between H and her. (I will spare you some of the more mundane details of other “issues” she had over a stupid hike (read: timing switching, being mad we invited my sister and her other grown son) ) Because she is so controlling, after all this happening she called back to tell us that the hiking spot we picked was “too complicated to get to” so she picked a different spot.

I am angry. I will and need to get over it, but just had to get it out. I’m sorry to be “that” person today with my complaints. I know I am supposed to do all things without complaining, but I just am so human today.I am in tears because I try so hard to make things better, and I feel like she takes over and tries to control everything. She adds to much stress to my life.

Anyone else ever experience anything similar or have any advice?

2 Responses to “Mother In Law – ARGH!”

  1. mattikuss November 5, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Stop bitching, at least you’re married. Mother in Laws die, if you’re lucky, it will be long before you. xoxo, Matt. 😉

    • glasshousemarriage November 6, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks for the perspective. I needed to hear that. Complaining really doesn’t solve anything does it!? Hope your day was better today!

Leave a Reply

