Puppy saves me

1 Oct

image

image

My puppy was nearly sent back to the shelter on more than one occasion. He is the BEST now, but he was so much more work than I bargained for. I was completely unprepared to have a dog, and our lies changed in a minute. We went from free-to-travel, to who-can-watch-the-dog? We went from flexible schedules to figuring out how to go shopping and get errands done with trips home in between to let the dog out. I could go on, but I won’t.

The point is, my puppy has helped save my marriage. We do this stupid thing (although only slightly stupid because it actually helps us humans) where we talk to the puppy instead of to each other when we are mad. A possibly real conversation could go something like this:

H: What do you want me to do?

W: Let me finish a sentence once in awhile!

H: I don’t know what to do! Tell me what to do!

W: I am not your mother. Don’t ask me what to do. Grow some balls – you are the man!

(at this point H starts talking to Puppy)

H: Puppy, she is psycho. I can’t talk to her when she is like this.

W: Puppy, I know YOU love me. YOU won’t hurt me!

I know it sounds a bit crazy, but somehow hearing mean words spoken to  a puppy, instead of directly to my face, somehow softens the blow and gives those extra 10 seconds to process before responding. Now, I am not an advocate of everyone in struggling relationships going out and adopting a puppy, but I’m just kinda glad that Puppy has helped my marriage.

Leave a Reply

